Fine Art Friday – Ceramics

Happy Friday!

Today I’d like to highlight a few ceramicists that have caught my eye lately.  One day, I’ll write more about how fascinating this medium can be. But for today, enjoy:


I keep seeing Beth Cavener Stichter’s work popping up around the internet, and for good reason. Her large scale anthropomorphic pieces are at technically masterful, beautiful and visceral. From her artist statement: “I want to pry at those uncomfortable, awkward edges between animal and human. The figures are feral and uneasy, expressing frustration for the human tendency towards cruelty and lack of understanding. Entangled in their own internal and external struggles, the figures are engaged with the subjects of fear, apathy, violence and powerlessness.”

 

The precision of Matthew Chambers‘ pieces is astounding. The rhythmic concentric layers of clay remind me of something that I can’t quite put my finger on. Whatever it is, it keeps drawing me in and I can’t stop looking at them.

Fanform 27cm H

 

Katherine Morling‘s lifesize “3 dimensional drawings, in the medium of ceramics” is a whimsical sketchbook come to life.  Spotted at The Jealous Curator.

Boom by Katharine Morling

 

Yep, this is ceramic. Reminiscent of one of my favorite pop artists, Jeff Koons, Brett Kern creates these totally fun pieces cast from inflatable dinosaurs, astronauts, whoopie cushions, and other awesome items. Found at bfree pottery.

DSC_0119.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

